Start of the Week

It’s been a bumpy start to the week.  Just yesterday, I had a 24-hour stomach virus.  Luckily I only puked three or four times.  I consider that very lucky in my case.  My poor little brother and step-dad were sick with me.  Even with that, I had to persevere long enough to finish my art project for Drawing II (it’s done by the way! I’ll post a picture of it later, but I’m going to end up tweaking it over spring break).  The stomach virus is still hanging around, because I didn’t have much of an appetite when it came lunch time.  I ended up forcing myself to eat a pizza so I wouldn’t regret it later.  My usual in-between snack is a plate of french fries sprinkled in seasoning, however, I ended up forcing that down too.  Right now, I’m trying to focus on making this annoying Fantasy Island project in 3D Design, which entails everyone making an Island or an object made out of cardboard.  I’m a  drawer, not a builder dagnabit.  This was actually assigned last week, but I’m still struggling with getting the base up.  At the moment…It’s…let’s just say that I’m glad everyone seems to be on the same page as me so far in terms of progress.

In other news, the play that I was going to be in has been postponed until next semester.  It’s not a big deal, really.  It’s actually for the best since I’ve already got so much on my plate.  Plus, somehow my friend B. got hooked into playing the judge in this play.  On the plus side, we get to keep our scripts, which will let us practice over this semester and the summer, and hopefully by that time we’ll be near ready to go.  It’s odd.  Honestly, I didn’t think B. would be into this kind of thing.  The play is set in the 1950’s, and is centered on Freudian psychology mostly (or at least the idea of it).  What I think got him though was the Judge’s character.  The Judge is a bit, eh, quirky, is the only way I know how to put it.  I’d give a quote out of the script, but I think B. unintentionally stole it, and I wont’ see him until tomorrow morning.  Yeah.  I hope he doesn’t turn that into a habit.

Also, I should go ahead and mention that me and B. are planning a little something for Spring Break.  In the Art Studio, the students taking drawing classes, 2D, 3D, and any of the Art History classes can sign up for a trip to New York City.   This year, they got enough money to take a plane trip all the way there.  The trip includes eating at different restaurants like Chinese and other types of restaurants that I can’t remember.  Also, since this is technically a school field trip, they also get to visit all sorts of art museums down there.  Guess what? Me and B. aren’t going.  Why? Well, for one, we can’t afford it.  Two, I thought about it last semester, and chickened out at the last minute.  Oh, and I’m kind of glad I’m not going.  I’m afraid of airplanes.  Deathly.

So! Our trip involves going to our nearby big city and going to restaurants as well.  Also, we’ll be going to the local art scene, going to the mall, the arcade, and all that jazz.  Plus, since the majority of us (OK, all of us) are total geeks, we’ll also be blowing our money on comics somewhere along the way.

Now, I’m just sitting in front of my Xbox hoping the smell of pizza isn’t going to make me sick.  I think the most I can eat of that is maybe one slice.  And then the cheese sticks.  Oh the freakin’ cheese sticks!

Leave a Reply

